Australian of the Year: Mitchell Ford, mental health ambassador #AOTY2020

Mitchell Ford is the founder of PRVT Apparel, a clothing brand which aims to spread awareness and provide support for youth with mental health issues.
With suicide the leading cause of death for youth in the NT and Australia, Mitchell is committed to tackling the stigma attached to talking about mental health. After losing his best friend to suicide at a young age, he decided to create a community and platform that lets young people know they don’t need to suffer alone.
PRVT is an acronym for ‘prevention’, a name which is designed to start a conversation around suicide prevention. Additionally, for each t-shirt, 20 per cent of the profits are donated to headspace, the national youth mental health foundation.
Mitchell also dedicates his free time volunteering with disadvantaged youth. In 2019, he was named Young Citizen of the Year and is very active as a social media influencer around kindness, mental health and self-love.

Australian of the Year Awards :
Each year our nation celebrates the achievements and contributions of eminent Australians through the Australian of the Year Awards by profiling leading citizens who are role models for us all.
They inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contribution to creating a better Australia.

The Awards honour an exceptional group of highly respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

The Australian of the Year Awards provides everyone with the opportunity to recognise any Australian who makes them proud.

The four Australian of the Year categories are:
Australian of the Year
Senior Australian of the Year (those aged 65 years or over)
Young Australian of the Year (ages 16 to 30)
Australia’s Local Hero

The Awards operate at two levels – State/Territory and national.
State and Territory selection committees select four nominees for each Award category, with one of these nominees being announced as the State/Territory Award recipient.
The National Australia Day Council Board selects the Australians of the Year from the group of 32 State and Territory recipients.

The prestigious year-round program culminates in the announcement of the National Award recipients in Canberra on Australia Day Eve.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards, read about the history of how recipients are chosen:

If you or anyone you know needs help:

Lifeline on 13 11 14
Beyondblue on 1300 224 636
MensLine Australia on 1300 789 978
Suicide Call Back Service on 1300 659 467
Kids Helpline on 1800 551 800
Headspace on 1800 650 890
QLife on 1800 184 527

Join the ABC Australia community on social media!

Post Author: hatefull